Gear: Get a fish cleaning table

I love catching, cleaning, and cooking fish. But that middle step is one that inevitably creates household issues. Sure, you can clean a fish on a kitchen counter, but you will end up with fish juice leaking off the counter and down your cabinets or walls. And then there is the smell of fish—even with a thorough cleaning it can linger in your home for days.

A couple of times I have tried cleaning outdoors on a cheap folding table. That was fine, but it meant I didn’t have a readily handy water source for washing my hands or the fillets I cut. I ended up having to bend over and grab the garden house again and again, which was a bother. There also was no place to put down my fillet knife without it sitting in fish blood and juice, which makes the handle slippery.

So I took care of all those hassles by buying an Avocahome folding fish table. You connect your garden hose to it (which is easy and takes about 30 seconds), and voila! You have a table with a little sink, faucet, and sprayer.

I used the table the first time yesterday and it was great. My cleaning from start to finish was faster. The sprayer nozzle can be tuurned t create a powerful jet of water that blast the table clean. Setting it up the first time took maybe 15 minutes and required no tools. and take down is really quuick. You unscrew your garden hose from the bottom, fold the faucet into the sink, then tilt the table on its side, and fold in the legs., then put it wherever you want to stow it. Great gear!

5 thoughts on “Gear: Get a fish cleaning table

Leave a comment